Domaine Grier

Olympus 2014

Olympus 2014

Posted on

Olympus 2014

Top of the range cuvee of Domaine Grier, with production of only 1 000 bottles per year, and only in good years! Olympus is aged in oak barrels for 18 months, and then the wine is aged in bottle in our cellars, in optimal conditions, to finally be offered to you. A great wine from Roussillon.

22,00

Grapes

Syrah 75 % Grenache noir 25 %

Terroir

The grapes from oldest parcels are picked up at perfect phenolic maturity

Vinification

The grapes are destemmed to be vinified in natural fermentation, punctuated by regular gentle pump overs. After 4 weeks of maceration, the wine is racked into French oak barrels for the malolactic fermentation in wood. After maturing for 18 months, the wine is rackled three times before bottling to avoid any filtration. The blend is determined very precisely after fermentation and before aging, to obtain a wine with a very elegant structure and great complexity, typical of the great wines of Roussillon.

Tasting

This a wine with a well-balanced structure between power and elegance. On this subtle marriage between aromas of black fruits and spices with a hint of liquorice, the wood brings its touch which completes the harmony of the whole.

Domaine Grier

Olympus 2014

Olympus 2014

Posted on

Olympus 2014

C’est la cuvée haut de gamme du domaine produite à seulement 1 000 bouteilles par an, et seulement les bonnes années ! L’assemblage reste en fût durant 18 mois puis le vin est élevé encore deux ans en bouteille dans nos chais, dans des conditions optimales, pour enfin vous vous être proposé. Un grand vin du Roussillon.

22,00

Cépages

Syrah 75% Grenache noir 25%

Terroir

Marnes schisteuses. Les raisins provenant des plus vieilles parcelles, sont ramassés à parfaite maturité phénolique.

Vinification

Les raisins issus des plus vieilles parcelles sont cueillis à parfaite maturité phénolique puis sont égrappés pour être vinifiés en fermentation naturelle ponctuée de remontages réguliers tout en douceur. Après 4 semaines environ de macération, le vin est coulé dans des barriques de chêne français pour que se réalise la fermentation malo-lactique sous bois. Après un élevage de 18 mois, le vin est soutiré trois fois avant la mise en bouteille pour éviter toute filtration. L’assemblage est réalisé très précisément après fermentation et avant élevage pour obtenir un vin d’une structure très élégante et d’une grande complexité typique des grands vins du Roussillon.

Dégustation

Ce vin est doté d’une belle structure, équilibrée entre puissance et élégance. À cette alliance subtile entre fruits noirs et épices, mêlées à une pointe de réglisse, s’ajoute une note boisée, complétant le tout avec harmonie.